That List of Forgottens


The List of Forgottens

The solid foundation of God stands, having this seal: “The Lord knows those who are His” … (2 Timothy 2:19).

My memory isn’t getting any better with age. More and more I’m forgetting the simple things. Names are always difficult – even for those I know best. I lose track of my thoughts and sometimes find myself at a complete loss in conversation. I get tongue-tied and slur my words, pause in the middle of statements, repeat myself. If I’m not careful on Sunday morning, I forget what song I’m playing on the piano. I’m thankful for GPS in the car because I’ve been on the road and either forgotten where I was at or where I was going.

This loss may be the result of brain injury from a 2006 car accident or something else. Whatever, it’s a part of life that we all will deal with at some point in life.

Medical science suggests that at the moment of birth, the brain begins to adapt, learn, and retain memories and ideas. At birth, you begin to lose about 7,000 brain cells a day. As time passes, the march through life takes its toll on the body and the brain. When you reach your thirties, your brain begins to age and the little neurons that make up the brain’s thinking power and memory begin to die. Insufficient sleep, the use of drugs, and drinking alcohol are known to increase the rate of loss at an earlier age and at a faster rate. Then by the age of 60, the mass of the brain begins to shrink in size.

The English preacher and author of the hymn Amazing Grace, John Newton, lived to be 82 years old. A few years before his death, he wrote to a friend: my memory is nearly gone; but I remember two things: that I am a great sinner, and that Christ is a great Saviour. 

As we age, there will be many, many things we forget. That list of forgottens may one day be far greater than the list of remembrances. We are grateful, however, that God never forgets. Even if we should forget all things, the Almighty Creator still knows and remembers those who belong to Him.

3 thoughts on “That List of Forgottens

  1. Enjoyed and inspired by this blog! Especially the bit about list of forgottens being greater than the remembers as we grow older. Too true about God remembering those who are his. Thanks – hope I’ll get to write as freely as you do, new to blogging!

Leave a Reply

