Your Bloody Jesus


Your Bloody Jesus

Someone years ago complained about my preaching and usual references to the blood of the Jesus. “I have no interest in hearing about your bloody Jesus,” I was told.

The thing that is truly despicable is not the wounds our resurrected Saviour still bears (John 20:27), nor the bloodiness of His sacrifice (Hebrews 9:22); what is shameful is your sins which demanded His death.

He was wounded for our transgressions, He was bruised for our iniquities, the chastisement for our peace as upon Him, and by His stripes we are healed (Isaiah 53:5).

One thought on “Your Bloody Jesus

  1. There are times when I complain, murmur and grumble at my present providence . . . and then I think of the Cross and my suffering Saviour and i put my ‘mouth in the dust’! What are all our ‘sufferings’ in comparison to the One who was smitten of God!!!

    “I am poured out like water, and all My bones are out of joint: My heart is like wax; it is melted in the midst of My bowels.
    My strength is dried up like a potsherd; and My tongue cleaveth to My jaws; and Thou hast brought Me into the dust of death.
    For dogs have compassed Me: the assembly of the wicked have inclosed Me: they pierced My hands and My feet.
    I may tell all My bones: they look and stare upon Me.
    They part My garments among them, and cast lots upon My vesture.”

    Psalm 22:15-18

Leave a Reply

