More Than You Can Handle


The storm

As I near the age of 50, one thing I’ve never yet experienced is a warning from suffering asking me if I’m ready for another round.

Life’s trials are sometimes like a gentle rain. Other times they come like a ferocious storm of destruction. Either way, we are never asked about it in advance.

Christian people say, “Well, God never gives you more than you can handle.” It seems like such a comforting idea, but think about what that means. It means that you can make it on your own without God. You can handle it without Him. The Bible, however, always leads us back to God.

God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble (Psalm 46:1).

He gives power to the weak, and to those who have no might He increases strength (Isaiah 30:29).

He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me” (2 Corinthians 12:9).

The answer is never found within; only in Him.

 

2 thoughts on “More Than You Can Handle

  1. I like your observation Brother Richard – “Christian people say, “Well, God never gives you more than you can handle.” It seems like such a comforting idea, but think about what that means. It means that you can make it on your own without God. You can handle it without Him. The Bible, however, always leads us back to God.”

    That is true! In fact it reminds me of a little plaque my dad had on his side table back home which read – “There is nothing that can happen today which you and God together cannot handle” Now that may seem pretty cool and even common logic to a lot of folks, but life, especially the ‘Christian life’ has taught me that it’s not me and God together, but God all the way!

    “I will cry unto God most high; unto God that performeth all things for me!” [Psalm 57:2] God must perform ALL THINGS or we’re goners! And if we’re not convinced of this great truth then the Lord will bring us into dire straits as He did the Hebrews who found themselves caught between ‘the Devil and the deep blue sea’ with no sign of help or reprieve whatsoever . . . and in times like these all one can do is what the Psalmist did – “Cry unto God most High!”

    “But Thou art holy, O Thou that inhabitest the praises of Israel.
    Our fathers trusted in Thee: they trusted, and Thou didst deliver them.
    They cried unto Thee, and were delivered: they trusted in Thee, and were not confounded.” [Psalm 22:3-5] Hallelujah!

Leave a Reply

