The Simple Life


Near Harrison, Nebraska
Near Harrison, Nebraska

WOW! Yesterday was a doozy here on my WordPress site. First my blog posted 9 hours early on Tuesday. Then it posted 3 more times on Wednesday, each without the text. Then it refused to post to Facebook. ARRRRRG! I love modern technology, but it can also be a pain in the tukus.

In the summer of 2014, my wife, son, and I drove across the northwestern US. In 16 days we visited 13 states and Canada. At one point we were driving through the never-ending corn fields of Nebraska and had to stop for gasoline. The town of 247 people was small enough that it didn’t even have a stop sign.

Outside the only gas station in town was a rusty, paint-worn tow truck. The gas pumps were the old style with the numbers pressed into metal rings which rotated inside the pump and went “ping” at every gallon.

I went inside to pay with my credit card. The grease-monkey pulled out a sun-faded carbon-paper receipt and a metal slider and made an impression of my card, filled in the data with a pen and signed the receipt. He shook my hand and I was on my way.

No electronics. No pay-at-the-pump. No Square. No ATM or POS. No computer glitch or sluggish transmission. Friendly folks, a dirty piece of paper and a pen. Simple life.

Heaven will be the simple life. God will wipe away every tear from their eyes; there shall be no more death, nor sorrow, nor crying; and there shall be no more pain, for the former things have passed away (Revelation 21:4).

Even so, Lord Jesus, come quickly!

2 thoughts on “The Simple Life

Leave a Reply

