Raining Again


Raining Again

As I write, it’s raining again in northwest Oregon.  It seems as if it’s rained almost every day since last August.  We generally have two seasons here: Summer, which begins on July 5th and lasts two months, and Winter, which is the rest of the year.

Okay, maybe I’m exaggerating … but only a little bit.

This morning I sat and watched the rain beat down on the living room window.  Each drop splashed and rolled down the window like giant tears from the sky.  I wasn’t outside to witness, but I pictured the teardrops continuing down the side of the house into the already saturated ground. Those “tears” from heaven would water the daffodils readying their bloom in the next few weeks.

Weeping may endure for a night, but joy comes in the morning(Psalm 30:5).  God knows our heartbreaks.  He sees our tears.  He feels our pains and hears our cries.  I also know that somehow He uses our tears to water the good things He plants in our lives.

I’m not asking for more tears down the side of the house, or from the windows of my face, but I trust that God will one day bring good from them both.

Leave a Reply

