Changing Our Character


Changing our CharacterIn the springtime, my grandfather would take me to Albers Feed Store downtown to buy little, fluffy, yellow chicks. Sometimes he’d let me get a couple fluffy black and yellow ducklings or geese. One year I convinced him to let me buy a few turkeys too. Back at his house we set out digging a hole and set an old bathtub into it for the ducklings and goslings to swim in.

In case you didn’t know, the dumbest critters on a farm are city slickers, the next dumbest are turkeys. Turkeys have been known to die of dehydration when water is close by and even drown in the rain because they look up with their mouths open to catch the raindrops and then don’t know to swallow.

My perfect habitat wasn’t the best choice for raising turkeys. They watched the ducks and geese swim in the old bathtub and believing they were ducks or geese tried to swim. Turkeys can’t swim and they all drown in a few days.

My Grandfather knew about chickens and ducks and geese . . . and turkeys. When he saw the makeshift pond under construction he knew the end result. He let me go through with my own plans.

We wonder where God is when we’ve worked so hard to fulfill our own plans – then they fail. We murmur against Him for not stopping us in our stupidity. We question if He’s really there and why He didn’t help. Wiser than a grandfather, He continually teaches us that He knows best. He lets us learn lessons that change us.

God does care, but He’s always been more interested in changing our character than in making life easier for us.

Count it all joy when you fall into various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces patience. But let patience have its perfect work, that you may be mature and complete, lacking nothing (James 1:2-4).

One thought on “Changing Our Character

  1. They say a wise man learns by his mistakes while the wiser man learns by other people’s mistakes. My twenty nine years as a Christian has taught me that my Father in heaven is not too keen on making me the “wiser man” but just a plain old wise man who keeps learning by my mistakes. Still a long way to go . . .

Leave a Reply

