Doh!


DohI finished talking with Daniel and headed for the bedroom after a long day. My wife was sitting on the edge of the bed, looked at me, and said, “You have your shirt on inside-out.”

I glanced down. She was right! I said, “We sat next to each other for breakfast, read the Bible and prayed together. Then we had lunch and walked in the park. Tonight we sat side-by-side for dinner and watched a movie … and you only now notice my shirt is on inside-out? I’ve spent the whole day like this?” We laughed … but it was worse than I thought.

I took my t-shirt off. Not only was my shirt on inside out, it was on backward. “It’s a good thing I’ve never been too proud to laugh at myself. Maybe all those people who smiled at me today were laughing instead!

King David was a godly man, yet a man who sinned. He was like you and me. He sang:

Search me, O God, and know my heart; try me, and know my anxieties; and see if there is any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting (Psalm 139:23-24).

God searches the human heart and reveals the truth of what’s within us. We go about our day thinking everything is fine, but it’s much worse than we know.

As we read the Bible, the Holy Spirit uses God’s Word to show us our true condition. If we’re reading the Scriptures and not seeing our sin, we need to go back and read again! He points out our sins, but then always faithfully and lovingly leads us back to Jesus, the Way Everlasting. His blood washes away every backward and inside-out thing about us and restores the joy of His salvation.

 

Leave a Reply

