Left Behind


Children (48)

Many years ago my wife went on safari in Kenya and Tanzania. After we married she explained that it’s impossible to go to Africa and not leave your heart there.

When I made my first journey to Kenya in 2014, I didn’t know what I was getting myself into. I was entering a culture unfamiliar, staying with people I didn’t know, and seeing things beyond my American comfort zone. Landing at the airport was an experience frightful enough that I was ready to turn around and head home. I entered the great “unknown.” That all changed when I met the Kenyan people.

I’ve filled 3 passports with international travel. In all my travels, Kenya, which means God’s Resting Place, is the only place I would choose to stay. The land is beautiful, the food filling, the potential unlimited, and the people mysteriously become family.

Everyone fears the unknown and the greatest unknown to us is death. The “hereafter” is a world in which we have no experience. We may have images in our minds of what it is like, but those pictures must beggar our imagination. Those who will spend eternity in Heaven will find it a place of God’s rest. No part of you will be left behind.

And thus we shall always be with the Lord (First Thessalonians 4:17).

One thought on “Left Behind

Leave a Reply

