Uh-Oh


Uh-Oh

Deep inside I knew it would be a disaster.

I made a protein shake for breakfast by blending a cup of milk, a banana, a raw egg, a scoop of protein powder, and a scoop of chunky peanut butter finished. I topped it off with a cup of raw oats. It’s a thick glop, but you get used to it.

Sunday morning I put on my black suit and tie, grabbed my shake, pushed the plastic lid down over the tumbler and headed for the car to make the 30 minute drive to church. As I drove, the toasty air from the heater blasted against my tightly sealed milk-banana-egg-protein-peanut butter-oatmeal breakfast. Ten minutes into the drive I reached for my drink and the lid exploded from the cup. Two and a-half cups of brown and white liquid vomited all over my black suit.

The initial shock became uncontrolled laughter. In an hour I’d be preaching looking as if I’d been burping a nursery of babies without a rag on my shoulder. It turned out to be a useful sermon illustration.

Life is full of surprises.  Each day we experience things we’ve planned – and things more akin to nightmares.

Psalm 139:16 says that God saw and knew you while still within your mother’s womb. Every event of your life was lovingly ordained by Him and in His book they all were written, the days fashioned for me, when as yet there were none of them. Not a single moment of your day arrives as a surprise to Him. The only question is how you’ll greet those surprises.

One thought on “Uh-Oh

  1. Amen!

    “O Lord , Thou hast searched me, and known me . Thou knowest my downsitting and mine uprising, thou understandest my thought afar off. Thou compassest my path and my lying down, and art acquainted with all my ways. For there is not a word in my tongue, but , lo, O Lord , Thou knowest it altogether.” [Psalm 139:1-4]

Leave a Reply

