I Will Lift Up My Eyes


I will lift up my eyesA broken world produces broken people.

Life isn’t fair,” Sherry cried over the telephone. “I never understood what my mother meant by that until now.” She was struggling to understand a series of impossible difficulties in her life. She’d survived to the age of thirty-something thinking that she was owed a fair-shake out of life.

The old saying that, “If you just have faith you’ll never have problems” doesn’t prove true in the real world in which we all live. As Christians, God does give us problems and they are often heavier than we can carry. Those trials, however, are not bigger than He can handle.

The Apostle Paul recounted a time when we were burdened beyond measure, above strength, so that we despaired even of life (2 Corinthians 1:8). Life wasn’t fair and it was harder than he could bear, yet the trial happened to teach him not to trust in ourselves but in God who raises the dead (2 Corinthians 1:9).

God gave Paul something more than he could handle, but God was faithful. This is something true about God and not of ourselves. He is our God, our help in ages past, our hope for years to come; our shelter from the stormy blast, and our eternal home.

Where you turn in life’s difficulties says much about your character and your beliefs. The beloved opening of Psalm 121 reminds us: I will lift up my eyes to the hills – from whence comes my help? My help comes from the Lord, who made heaven and earth (Psalm 121:1-2). 

One thought on “I Will Lift Up My Eyes

Leave a Reply

