To Be Popular


Farah FawcettMy sister was always the popular one in school. She had the friends and followers. I might have made it through both junior and senior high school without being noticed if it hadn’t been for that little incident with the vice-principal’s moped and the flagpole … but I digress.

I never wanted to be the popular kid. I’ve never owned a pair of Nike shoes or had thick feathered hair. I didn’t get my first pair of bell-bottom San Francisco Jeans until everyone else had moved to Levi’s 501s. My eyeglasses and shy demeanor didn’t help my prospects.

After a recent blog post I was told I wouldn’t be very popular with some people. That’s okay. I don’t write to be popular; it’s about the truth of God’s Word and the glory of God’s name. In this slippery world of fame for fortune and policy through polling, we must remember that God is the sole arbiter of truth and the only One worthy of praise.

Teach me Your way, O Lord; I will walk in Your truth; unite my heart to fear Your name. I will praise You, O Lord my God, with all my heart, and I will glorify Your name forevermore (Psalm 86:11-12).

Leave a Reply

