Reminded of the Basics


A beautiful Jersey cow at the Washington County (OR) Fair

The chorus of a favorite hymn reads, Tell me the Old, Old Story of Jesus and His love. 

It’s the time of year when Oregonians visit the county and state fairs and I could spend all day in the cow barns. As we walked through the cow barn at the Washington County Fair, I recalled to my wife and son how as a boy my grandfather would remove his shoes and socks and walk through the cow manure in the barn to warm his feet on a cold day.

I’d barely begun my story when Daniel shook his head and said, I know, I know, I know. You tell this story every time we go to the fair! 

Okay, so I’m getting older and I tend to repeat myself without knowing it, but there’s a power in being reminded of important things.

The Apostle Peter began his second letter describing the importance of spiritual growth. Then he wrote, Therefore I will not be negligent to remind you always of these things, though you know them and are established in the present truth. Yes, I think it is right, as long as I am in this tent, to stir you up by reminding you (2 Peter 1:12-13).

God repeats Himself a lot in the Bible: not because He’s forgetful, but that we’re forgetful. We forget the simple things while racking our brains over the things no one can understand. We need to be constantly reminded of the basics.

The Oregon State Fair is in a few weeks. Daniel, be prepared to hear the same old, old story again when we walk into the cow barn! I don’t want you to forget the simple things.

Leave a Reply

