The Nature of Faith


The nature of faith

My car was having trouble, so I took it to a good friend who knows much more about engines than I will ever know. I described the problem, then he looked at the engine and listened to it run. After but a few minutes he knew the problem. When he began explaining the problem and the repair, I stopped him. “I don’t understand what you’re talking about, but I trust you. Just fix it.”

When you trust someone, you don’t need all the information or answers. You accept and believe what he says.

God is all-knowing and His wisdom is perfect. Trusting God means that you don’t need an explanation. You are confident in Him, trust his character and accept His actions.

I’ve heard people say, maybe somewhat facetiously, “When I get to Heaven God’s going to have a lot of explaining to do.” Is that you? Do you today need proof, reasons, and explanations, as if you would understand His motives and ways? or do you know that God does no wrong and His word is faithful and true?

This is the nature of faith.

Oh, the depth of the riches both of the wisdom and knowledge of God! How unsearchable are His judgments and His ways past finding out! (Romans 11:33).

Leave a Reply

