Rumpelstiltzksin


rumpleDuring the summers as a very young boy, we’d attend various performances at the Rose Test Garden high in the Portland hills. The night might feature the Salvation Army band, a troupe of ballet dancers, bag pipers, or a Shakespearean play. One night we watched a production of Rumpelstiltskin.

Decked out in colorful Elizabethan costumes, I watched as a poor woman was forced to spin straw into gold to gain her freedom. Each night a tiny man appeared in her prison cell, and for the promise of giving up her firstborn child, he spun the straw into gold for her. All was well until the woman guessed the identity of the tiny man named Rumpelstiltskin and he lost his hold upon her. At that point in the story the actor ranted and raved around the stage, stomping his feet until with a flash of smoke and loud bang he disappeared from sight beneath a trapdoor in the stage.

All the drive home I wondered where Rumpelstiltskin had gone. When we got home, I knew the angry dwarf was hiding in my bedroom closet. I knew it!

These many years later I can assure you that Rumpelstiltskin was not in my closet. He wasn’t even in my house. It was a well-performed stage trick. But to that little boy, it seemed so real.

Fear is real and there are many things in this world to be frightened about. The news is full of scary events around us each day, yet the Bible repeatedly tells us not to be afraid.

A portion of the Twenty-Third Psalm reads, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me (verse 4).

The valley is real. The shadows and death are real, but there is no reason for the child of God to fear. Why? God, your Shepherd, is with you. He doesn’t take away the things that frighten us, but He does promise to stay with us, protect us, and bring us comfort in the face of the dangers we face each day.

One thought on “Rumpelstiltzksin

  1. It was one of my favourite stories when I was a kid – Rumpelstiltskin. I still read some of these fairy tales sometimes. As for Rumpelstiltskin hiding under my bed or in my bedroom, I have had some real encounters with things worse than him. After all I was saved from the Occult.

    YES, they’re very real Angels, demons etc. Our Lord called them by Name and cast them out. Grieves my heart to know that there are a few groups who call themselves Christian who deny their very existence. ‘Pastor’ Jim Brown and the Christadelphians to name a few – they deny the very existence of the Devil and his demons. But they are there all right and those who know not Christ as their Lord and Saviour are going to spend an eternity with them. But thanks be to God Christ has overcome the Devil and given us the victory in Him! Hallelujah!

    “And the seventy returned again with joy, saying, Lord, even the devils are subject unto us through Thy name!” [Luke 10:17]

    “Behold, I give unto you power to tread on serpents and scorpions, and over all the power of the enemy: and nothing shall by any means hurt you.
    Notwithstanding in this rejoice not, that the spirits are subject unto you; but rather rejoice, because your names are written in heaven.” [Luke 10:19,20]

Leave a Reply

