My Day in Paradise


morning-in-paradiseThis morning I woke up and took a jog on the beach. The warm sea breeze, clear blue water, and powdery white sand made me dream about living here for eternity. It was my day in paradise!

Not long after I started out, I noticed a shining object in the water ahead. I picked it up and found it to be a golden lamp, the kind you would expect to see in Disney movie about a singing princess a long time ago in a Middle East desert.

I rubbed the sand from the lamp and a genie appeared. I know what you’re thinking right now, but I swear it’s the truth! The genie offered me one wish. I thought about all the possible wishes I could make. Had the genie not pressed me for an answer, it may have taken a thousand and one nights to narrow down my thoughts to just one.

“I wish for a copy of tomorrow’s newspaper!” I said. As the genie vanished in a puff of smoke the newspaper materialized.

Relaxing under the shady fronds of a palm tree, I opened the paper to the financial page and began making a list of all the stocks I would purchase back at the hotel. By my count, I’d be a millionaire by tomorrow!

I laid the newspaper down, tilted back my head and inhaled deeply. I shuddered to think that the choices I made today would change the rest of my life.

One last look at the ocean and I jumped up to go call my stock broker. I reached to pick up the newspaper and saw on the back page the obituaries. My name was at the top of the page with the headline: Man dies of heart attack in his sleep.

Jesus asked, What will it profit a man if he gains the whole world, and loses his own soul? (Mark 8:36).

Behold, now is the accepted time; behold, now is the day of salvation (2 Corinthians 6:2).

Leave a Reply

