A Thieving Con Man


a-thief-and-con-manSuppose for my birthday you send me a bank check for $10. Later that day I arrive at the bank with the check and say to the clerk, “I’d like $10,000 cash for this check.”

The clerk looks at the check and then back at me. “But sir, the check is written only for ten dollars.”

“Oh, I know what it says, but that doesn’t matter to me.”

Will the bank honor the intention of the check writer or the amount I think it should be? Will the bank consider me a true and honest client or a thieving con man?

God’s words are not fluid, changing their meaning depending on the reader. Too often in our Bible reading we think first of ourselves. We eagerly read ourselves into the story. We want to discover what pleases us, fills a need in our own experience, or grab something that agrees with our beliefs. Pastors want to make relative sermons. We end up forgetting the intention and meaning of the Author.

Not accepting and honoring the intentions of the Biblical Author is dishonest and always leads to spiritual bankruptcy and deceit of the reader and hearer.

Be diligent to present yourself approved to God, a worker who does not need to be ashamed, rightly dividing the Word of truth (2 Timothy 2:15).

Leave a Reply

