A Heavenly-Minded Obsession


 

a-heavenly-obsessionI have an admission to make. As I’ve gotten older, I’ve developed something of an obsession about my hair. Not all my hair – which is generally becoming less and less – but those thick white ones growing in my ears. My son has an exceptionally keen eye at spotting the three-inch long eyebrow sticking out above the rims of my glasses. Even my wife is on the bandwagon.

“Honey, did you shave your hair today?” she’ll ask.

“Yes, why?”

With a smile she answers, “Because you missed a streak of hair from here to here,” as she runs her finger across the back of my scalp.

Depending on the obsession, it can be dangerous or imperative.

You’ve probably heard the old saying that someone is so heavenly minded that he is of no earthly value. They usually mean that the person is impractical when it comes to life, focussing on spiritual things to the neglect of the material ones. Jesus, then, was guilty of this bromide.

At the tender age of twelve, Jesus “lost” His parents and went to arguing with the religious leaders in Jerusalem (Luke 2:41-50). When Joseph and Mary found Him, He replied, Why is it that you sought Me? Did you not know that I must be about My Father’s business?” (Luke 2:49).

Later in life He said that both His words and actions were only those He’d first witnessed from the Father (John 5:19-20; 14:10). He insisted that His mission in life was a heavenly-minded obedience. The works which the Father has given Me to finish – the very works that I do – bear witness of Me, that the Father has sent Me (John 5:36).

Paul gave a command about how we are to think and act as Christians. Set your mind on things above, not on things on the earth. For you died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God (Colossians 3:2-3). Sounds like a heavenly-minded obsession we all need to put into better practice.

Leave a Reply

