Holding the Rock


can-you-hold-the-rock

The Lord is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; the God of my strength, in Him I will trust

(2 Samuel 22:2, 3)

 

So Greek mythology goes, the part-human part-god Atlas and his brother participated in a coup against Zeus, the chief of the gods. Zeus won the battle and confined most of the rebels in Tartarus, but Atlas received a special punishment.  Atlas was forced to stand on the western edge of the world and hold up the sky for all eternity.

You and I are familiar with more recent artistry depicting Atlas holding up the world; but classical Greek and Roman statuary always depicts Atlas holding up the heavens.

Forget the sky, imagine how hard it would be to hold up this big, round, rock that is our world? Could you hold up the rock? How heavy would it be? How strong would you need to be? Would it be easier and better for the rock to hold you?

Jesus spoke in Matthew 7:24-27 of a man who built his house upon a rock. When the winds and the rains came, the house stood firm because it was built upon the rock. Then Jesus explained that anyone who hears and does what He says is like the man who has built upon a solid rock.

Christians are built upon the Rock; but so often we think and act like we must hold Him up. We think that our faith is dependent upon us holding up the Rock. Our stability somehow demands that we do the heavy lifting; that our effort and strength means something. But you know what? I’m not made for holding up Jesus to be saved nor to stay saved. I’m created to rest upon the Rock and allow Him to uphold me. His strength is much greater than mine.

There’s an old song called “Builded on the Rock” by a Mrs C Rice. The chorus reads, I hold not the Rock, but the Rock holds me, The Rock hold me, the Rock holds me; I rest on the Rock, and the Rock hold me, Resting on the Rock of God.

Stop struggling to be like Atlas and hold up the Rock; instead, rest on the Rock that was made to hold you

Leave a Reply

