A Shorter Story


a-shorter-story-jpgeIn the process of renewing my US passport at the end of 2016, I learned some terrifying information. In the past 10 years I’ve shrunk an inch! Yes, I’m now only 6 foot 3 inches!

The shorter story is: All the stretching, exercising, eating healthy, and gazing at the height printed on my driver license hasn’t stopped the effects of aging. I’ll continue to get shorter until the day I’m laid out in my coffin.

In writing this blog today, I discovered exercises purporting to make me taller. There are even expensive all-natural supplements promising the same effect. These undoubtedly stretch the truth … or there wouldn’t be any short people in the world. My momma didn’t raise a fool.

I’ve spent more than enough time in my life striving for things impossible. I’ve worried about things beyond my control. My height has never been one of these worries, but there are other temptations. Like everything else, worrying about reality, fighting reality, and bemoaning reality, doesn’t change reality.

Instead of fighting the natural progression of life, instead of worrying about things that only God controls, I’ll pursue things eternal and unchanging; things that never shrink.

Which of you by worrying can add one cubit to his stature? But seek the kingdom of God (Luke 12:25, 31).

Leave a Reply

