My Resume


my-resumeThere isn’t much to my resume. The education section is short, my work history is not much more. I grew up in a religious home, the daughter of an Episcopal priest. I barely made it through high school. I graduated and ran away from home to live in a Christian commune in California delivering newspapers, sorting carrots, picking daffodils, and washing dishes.

When I mistakenly decided I was good with God, I bought a car and ran away in the middle of the night with only $30 in my pocket. Only a few years ago did I really learn of my sinfulness and need of Saviour.

Looking back, I learned a lot during those earlier years of life. I added to my knowledge of Jesus and learned to play the guitar. I also learned and lived a lot of things I wish I hadn’t. Who knows where I’d be without those experiences, but those experiences don’t work on a job resume.

My resume for Heaven is more substantial because having Jesus is all that really counts.

As Christians, we are each writing an eternal resume of the things we’ve accomplished for His glory. We don’t have to put down our sins because they don’t exist to Him; they’re just blank space on the page. His interest is in what we’ve done to honor Him.

I’m not great, but Jesus thinks I’m amazing because of what He’s doing in me. It’s not always easy to accept, but He loves me for who I am.

By the grace of God I am what I am, and His grace toward me was not in vain; but I labored more abundantly than they all, yet not I, but the grace of God which was with me  (First Corinthians 15:10).

– Written by Kimberly Rice

Leave a Reply

