Money Trumped Harmony


money controlAfter saving the life of the king of Sodom, the evil king offered Abram all the wealth he could carry away. Abram said to the king of Sodom, “I have lifted my hand to the LORD, God Most High, the Possessor of heaven and earth, that I will take nothing from a thread to a sandal strap, and that I will not take anything that is yours, lest you should say, ‘I have made Abram rich'” (Genesis 14:22-23).

Barry could quote his Bible, was faithful attending services each Sunday, and was generous with his money. The man was also a trouble-maker from day one.

Then came a day when he stopped by my office to lecture me. Some of his finger pointing was accurate, most was not. He bragged about how much money he’d donated over the previous decade and his lecture ended with a series of his personal demands. I thanked Barry for his time and showed him the door.

Throughout the week Barry called various ones in the church questioning my leadership and boasting in his generosity. That was enough. Sunday morning when Barry and his wife arrived, I invited them into my office and explained that they were no longer welcome.

I was criticized for telling the man who donated so much money to the church to leave. To them, money trumped harmony. I had no problem telling Barry to go; God was our provider, not Barry. Abram refused the money of a troublemaker. So should we.

Leave a Reply

