My Every Need


sleepless-nightsGiving thanks always for all things to God the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ … (Ephesians 5:20).

Almost two weeks ago I injured my shoulder weightlifting; it only moves now with near tear-wrenching pain. Then Monday morning I went out to start my wife’s car and slid down the ice-covered stairs of our deck, further injuring my arm.

The last three nights I haven’t had much sleep because of the pain. To add to the insult, I sleep on my left side – the side I’ve injured.

As I was praying this morning, I thanked the Lord for keeping me warm, dry, and safe through the night. I did a bit of complaining requesting about not sleeping before I moved to thanking Him for giving me everything I have need of. Those words brought a moment of realization: If God knows what I need and He provides for all my needs, my lack of sleep must be His supply.

For reasons I don’t know, He’s determined that for this short season I don’t need much sleep. Rather than complain about what I don’t have, I can thankful that my Shepherd knows my every need and supplies it perfectly according to His will.

The Lord is my Shepherd, I shall not want (Psalm 23:1).

Leave a Reply

