The Broken Branch


brokenOutside my home stands a tree I planted many years ago. I watered it, trimmed it back, and it brought me much joy.

In the Pacific Northwest, our winters are usually mild with an average of 3 inches of snow all season long. A few weeks ago our “usual” was interrupted by two weeks of wild. A thick coat of ice coated everything until we were hit with 9 inches of snow overnight. Once tall and straight, under the load of ice and snow, my tree bowed to the ground and one of its branches bent and broke.

No amount of discussion and counsel has mended the broken branch. My commands, declarations, pleadings, and even prayers have failed to repair the effects of nature. What nature has destroyed, only the Creator can make straight, and in this instance, He has willed not done so.

When God created all things, He made them as only a perfect God can do. When sin entered the universe, it laid a weight upon His work that has left every creature bent, broken, and destroyed. The sin nature adds the only thing it has to offer: more sin; and the weight and destruction grows.

I am so often prone to attempt things only God can do. In my own well-meaning but stubborn strength, I seek to fix what sin destroys. I end up a frustrated, irritated, defiant, drained and failed wanna-be saviour. Then am I reminded that He is God and I am not.

Before Me there was no God formed, nor shall there be after Me. I, even I, am the Lord, and besides Me there is no saviour. Indeed before the day was, I am He; and there is no one who can deliver out of My hand; I work, and who will reverse it? (Isaiah 43:10, 11, 13).

Leave a Reply

