No Halo


a-haloIn a few weeks, my son will turn 18 years old. One thing that’s helped me as a parent is remembering whether Daniel is a Christian or not, he is still like his father: a sinner. That sin nature makes him more than able to lie, steal, murder, blaspheme the Lord, be proud, and a thousand-and-one other things God calls sin.

As parents, we generally perceive our children as angels and forget the doctrine of the sin nature. Some readers will complain that this doctrine is so negative. No, it’s Biblical. To deny or turn a blind eye to sin in Daniel diminishes in my mind his very real need of a Saviour.

When I read the Bible, I’m reminded of my own sinful bent. If I’m capable of sinning against God, so is Daniel, especially if he’s not walking in fellowship with Christ Jesus.

Daniel has no halo, so each morning when I pray with him, I pray that God keeps him from sin. It’s a good reminder to both of us.

How can a young man cleanse his way? By taking heed according to Your Word (Psalm 119:9).

3 thoughts on “No Halo

Leave a Reply

