An Imperfect Husband


Where Living Begins Pastor Richard L Rice

The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked (Jeremiah 17:9).

What we feel doesn’t always reflect what is true.

Last night my wife was looking at me strangely. I immediately felt that I’d done something to displease her. My mind raced to a thousand and one different possibilities of offense. I know I’m not a perfect husband and my feelings confirmed my every deficiency.

I’d finally taken all I could stand and blurted out, “Whatever I’ve done to upset you, I’m sorry.”

Then I got another look. It was the look of “What are you talking about?” Then the look became audible. “I’m not upset with you. I just have a headache.”

All those hours of feelings were nothing but lies.

Feelings of every stripe can be deceptive. Yes, God gave us feelings, and yes, what we feel is really what we feel. Often, however, we allow our feelings to direct or control our actions and thoughts. This is especially true in spiritual matters, when we should be turning to the ever-accurate Bible. We get caught in a trap of allowing our feelings about something to replace God’s Word as our ground and source of truth.

My flesh and my heart fail me again and again, but neither God nor His Word fail.

My flesh and my heart fail; but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever (Psalm 73:26).

Leave a Reply

