Ambassadors for Christ


Pastor, Richard L Rice, Where Living Begins

My first day in Kenya I wore shorts into the village of Kangundo. When we returned home I noted to my host that I was the only one wearing shorts and asked if it was appropriate in the culture. I’ll never forget Isaac’s reply that everyone could tell I was an American by how I dressed and that they would overlook my offense.

Without thinking about it, I was a representative of my country. I began wondering what I was saying about myself and America to the Kenyan people. Representing America brought responsibilities.

As Christians, the Bible calls us ambassadors for Christ.

To be a Christian is to represent Christ. When we are saved, we become living witnesses of His love and truth and light. Jesus could have used a billion and one different ways to witness about Himself, but He chose to use redeemed men and women. He appointed us to speak and live Him before mankind.

No ambassador makes his own message. He represents his president or king and speaks only the word given to him. In the same way we must be careful that the word we pass along is that which God breathed-out in the pages of Scripture; whether it suits our fancy or not.

When we take the name of Christian, we live for Christ Jesus. We represent His will, honor His priorities, guard His reputation, and submit to His desires.

We are ambassadors for Christ, as though God were pleading through us; we implore you on Christ’s behalf: be reconciled to God (2 Corinthians 5:20).

Leave a Reply

