A War of Words


war-of-wordsIn the 240 years of the American republic, 103 of those years have been engaged in active, declared warfare. Of the wars fought in American history, no war cost more lives or did as much damage as the War Between the States. More than 55% of all the war fatalities in US history happened during the four bloody years of the American Civil War (1861-1865).

There is a far more deadly war waged each day. It is the war of words. I can’t begin to count how many people in my lifetime I’ve killed or maimed by my words. If I could take those words back, I would; but like toothpaste squeezed from the tube, once our words come out, it’s impossible to put them back.

The Bible tells us that The tongue is a fire, a world of iniquity. … No man can tame the tongue. It is an unruly evil, full of deadly poison. With it we bless our God and Father, and with it we curse men, who have been made in the likeness of God. Out of the same mouth proceed blessing and cursing. My brethren, these things ought not to be so (James 3:6, 8-10).

May our constant prayer be like the psalmist, Set a guard, O Lord, over my mouth; keep watch over the door of my lips (Psalm 141:3).

Leave a Reply

