Must Jesus Bear the Cross Alone? – Thomas Shepherd (1693)


Must Je­sus bear the cross alone,
And all the world go free?
No, there’s a cross for ev­ery­one,
And there’s a cross for me.

How hap­py are the saints above,
Who once went sor­row­ing here!
But now they taste un­min­gled love,
And joy with­out a tear.

The con­se­crat­ed cross I’ll bear
Till death shall set me free;
And then go home my crown to wear,
For there’s a crown for me.

Upon the crys­tal pave­ment down
At Je­sus’ pierc­ed feet,
Joyful I’ll cast my gold­en crown
And His dear name re­peat.

O pre­cious cross! O glo­ri­ous crown!
O re­sur­rect­ion day!
When Christ the Lord
From Heav’n comes down
And bears my soul away.

And whoever does not bear his cross and come after Me cannot be My disciple (Luke 14:27).

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.